Arrowhead Brux prefit 45 cal for Encore.

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

163bc

Reaction score
Near 40 years as a reloader but a total newbie to the smokeless muzzleloader game. Just ordered a Brux prefit for my Encore from Luke at Arrowhead Rifles. I am primarily a hunter and focus will be on deer with the muzzleloader for now. I'd like to be able to shoot accurately to 300 with this new rig. I'm wondering if there are load suggestions that some may have particularly with these Brux 45 cal barrels. I do have 20 of the bullets coming that Luke at Arrowhead recommended. Lots of powder on hand but nothing in 4198. Other powder options?? Thanks in advance

Im pretty sure Luke has all kinds of data for your barrel and bullet combo with many dif powders. Ive been seeing plenty of imr4198 and 4227 on LGS shelves lately. Ive been chasing some n110 & n120 without luck.

With Luke's Encore barrel, his recommended load with the 275 or 300 grain bullets is 60 grains max of Hodgdon H4198. That will get you approx. 2575fps with the 275 bullet and 2500fps with the 300 bullets. As mentioned above, IMR 4198 is showing up in most shops. The IMR 4198 can be used + or - a grain or 2 as a direct replacement for the H4198. Hope this helps............

No 4198 around here. Just switched to N120 in my bolt gun and love it. Faster and cleaner than 4198 . Haven't tried it in my Scout yet but I'm sure it will be fine.

Doesn’t N120 have higher pressure verses the same load of H4198?