New to the forum and traditional mzloading

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

outdoorsman1

Reaction score
Howdy all! Looks like a great forum and I'm glad to be here. Looking around on the forum and reading lots.

I have a quick question. I have a Hopkins and Allen Underhammer Buggy Rifle in .45 caliber. Shoots good with 50grn of Pyrodex RS and patched round ball.

What yardage would I be able to ethically take a deer? I'm thinking 50 yards or less?

Obviously I'm new to the traditional muzzleloading sport and just trying to learn.

Thanks
Craig

IMO 50 grs is a mild load even for the ball. But if it shoots accurately it is capable of killing a deer at 50 yards. But if you boost that charge up to 70 grains or so you can increase your yardage at least 50% provided you get the accuracy necessary to hit your target every time.
Just be for warned, although the round ball is an effective deer killer, a lot of the time the blood trail isn't very good if present at all.

Welcome to the forum.

A .45 PRB will kill a deer ok, but i'd up the powder load some. Have you tried 60-70gr? 50yds makes it easier. Put it through the lungs to be safe. No shoulder shots.

Welcome to this board.
Pyrodex RS is weak powder. Try 50gr Goex FFF for more energy.
What patch and what patch lube are you using? Consider snug pillow-ticking when wanting to increase ball speed and maintain accuracy. Improving your patch lube helps too.

Don't have access to Goex. Have lots of Pyrodex in RS and P as well as select. Also 777, and shockey's gold.

I'll up my load to 70grns and see how she shoots. Need to get some range time in before season starts here in MO. on Dec. 24! :D