Newbie here, dailing in a Z5 Omega!

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fisher2072

Reaction score
I found this site last night and thought it would be helpful since I'm really getting into muzzloading! I purchased my first ML about 5 years ago, and recently gave it to my Bro-inlaw. I bought a used Z5 Omega off of gun broker. It had some fouling in the barrel when I recievedit , but I managed to get it out and make the bore nice and shiny. I put a Warne Maxima base and warne QD rings with a new Burris fullfield 2 Balistiplex on it.

Before the first outing with the rifle I floated the barrel using 60grt sandpaper aroung the barrel on the cheap composite stock then headed to the range. I'd like to try the new BH209, but cannot get it locally so I brought an almost 3/4 full, 4 year old can of Black Mag 3 that I had stored in my closet along for the bang. There were a few small clumps in there and with about 5 seconds of shaking the bottle, there were no clumps. I had some TC shockave 250s, and some dead center 240gr lead to sling downrange. I took my chronograph along to check velocity.