Polymer Tipped vs Hollowpointed Sabot Bullets???

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LFM

Reaction score
I am new to all thi and wondering if the hollowpoint bullets I have for my ML equal in possible performance as the Polymer Tipped ones like the T/C Shockwave Sabot Bullets?

A friend who is a Poice Officer says that the hollowpoints when shot get filled up with air and once filled they perform as a pointed bullet would is this true or is there more involved? Does it matter how fast the bullet travels to get the best from a hollowpoint bullet especially in an inline muzzleloader?

Any information would be welcome I have some old hollowpoints in my supplies and wondering how they will work compared to some PR QT's and Dead Centers and some Shockwaves???

I also have some discontinued Speer Sabots in 270 grain flat nose sabot bullets... Anyone once shoot these were they any good... Only have about 18 left just wondering if I can use them for hunting once I sight the rifle in for these to use them up???

Thanks...

LFM

I agree with your policeman friend. I think the whole aerodynamic hype of the polymer tipped bullets is blown way out portion. IMO

What I do believe makes a difference is the better BC?s of the polymer tipped bullets.