Precision iron sights for hunting

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to muzzleloading and have retired to the Rockies in northern New Mexico. The only muzzleloader I have fired 26 years ago was a BPCR original Sharps which was used by a very skillful shooter. It had a tall vernier rear sight with a huge peep sight with a tiny hole, a very small pin front sight with a globe level. While wonderfully accurate with its paper patched lead bullets, I also realized back then that these sights would be unsuitable for hunting situations.

So, I have two challenges, learning about the maximum ranges I can reliably shoot here where you can see for miles, and also utilizing sights that can provide me with potential accuracy at extended ranges. Any help that could be extended to me would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

WW

Hello,
I am new to muzzleloading and have retired to the Rockies in northern New Mexico. The only muzzleloader I have fired 26 years ago was a BPCR original Sharps which was used by a very skillful shooter. It had a tall vernier rear sight with a huge peep sight with a tiny hole, a very small pin front sight with a globe level. While wonderfully accurate with its paper patched lead bullets, I also realized back then that these sights would be unsuitable for hunting situations.

So, I have two challenges, learning about the maximum ranges I can reliably shoot here where you can see for miles, and also utilizing sights that can provide me with potential accuracy at extended ranges. Any help that could be extended to me would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

WW
You need to contact Idaho Ron who is a member on this site. He will certainly be able to give you great advise on hunting with iron sights. X