Proofing an old shotgun barrel

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

exMember

Reaction score
Looks like that old 41 1/2" long 12ga is going to live again! Tomorrow I am taking it to a gunsmith and having him thread a new over sized nipple for it.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/8EkPTgAuPEE" frameborder="0" loading="lazy" allowfullscreen ></iframe>

yes its 100gr 2fg gearheart owen black powder, 480gr worth of buckshot. When I get a round ball mould it will be 492gr so I wanted to test with a load similar.

I am an English trained gunmaker (Ret) so I have extensive training and experience with proof processes. Your method is sort of a unique take on how it is done and it certainly works. However, a proofing is done with an "over-charge". If you are going to load 50 grains then this might be a "proof". Explained crudely, the proof load is twice the maximum amount of powder you would normally use. Nowadays with technology it is essentially twice the maximum pressure you would get from the most "powerful" commonly available load. I would think with that gun you would load somewhere around 70 or 80 grains of powder. With that in mind, you have neither a "double-charge" nor a "double-pressure" load that you tested with. I appreciate your enthusiasm and I like your ingenuity!  I am not convinced that barrel is perfectly safe with that one blast. I'd like to see it work out for you, so be careful and somewhat reserved as you proceed.

i fired 3 shots total, 2 on video. Also with this being an antique barrel with zero info, we have no clue what max load is and with it being so old, i dont think any one of us would consider shouldering it with a max load, even if we knew what it was.

In "general", I always understood a proof load to be much more than one would ever shoot out of the particular firearm.