Sabot indexing?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CarlV

Reaction score
Being kind of new to in-line ML'ing I am still learning.

I occasionally run across a post where the poster says he "indexed the sabot."

Could someone explain to me what that means.

Is it one of the variables that leads to better accuracy?

Thanks, Carl

I do not know if it is needed but for consistency I put the slit in the sabot in the same place in the barrel every time. Even the bullet tip on the SSTs I use is put in similarly. It may not help but it certainly does not hurt. Everything is lined up on each shot in the same way by indexing.
Some even weigh each bullet, sabot and measure the sabots for consistency in size, I do not go that far.

CarlV

When I here the term indexing... I am one of those that always, at the range, places the sabot in the barrel with a petal directly under the front sight.... How much difference it makes????? but I fell better...

I understand that indexing a sabot means to place the sabot where two lands in your barrel are in contact with each petal on a sabot. I'm not sure if this makes for better accuracy, but it does help in loading pressure consistency.
Zen

The term indexing as we generally us it means to place the sabot in an exact position. Some of us have determined that position on a particular gun by looking at our shot sabots and finding the position that lets all the rifling bear on the sabot petals. This is applying the pressure to the bullet evenly. It appeared to me that the first hundred shots after I started doing it that it reduced the number of fliers considerable, since I don't believe in coincidence when it comes to that many shots I now index my sabots. Lee

Carl,