Traditions Kentucky Long Rifle .50

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LR

Reaction score
My first build.  Nothing special and it certainly does not compare to the builds I have seen on this forum.  I should be so lucky to be a skilled as some of the members on here.  But even so, I am still proud of it and it's accurate for hunting. 
26H4lp1.jpg

I was out at the range putting some Hornady PA Conicals through it as Colorado decided that a .50 PRB isn't enough to kill an elk. 

As I am just learning the ropes, what is a good site-in-distance for a muzzle loader.  I won't shoot a critter past 100 yards and that is my personal limitation, some may be able to shoot farther.  Right now, with both PRB's and the PAC's, I can consistently hit a small coffee can at 100 yards.  I feel that this would suggest that its minute of deer/elk easily.  But I welcome any criticism and advice.

vgSpXV1.jpg

I went with a lighter colored stock.  I used some Behren's stain wash to bring out the grain and then finished it with some tru-oil.  I also went with a plum-brown blueing procedure rather than the traditional look.  The brass was all hand aged over a period of a few weeks by brushing a vinegar solution onto the pieces.  The picture doesn't quite do it justice, so please don't be too brutal.

eRACFhc.jpg

For some reason, the state of Colorado has decided that the projectile on the left isn't enough to kill and elk, so I have to resort to using the projectile on the right.  It bums me out to no end.  So much so, that I have plans for a .54 build in the future so that I can use PRB's.  Eventually I will also build a .32 for small game use. 

Thanks for taking the time to read through my post.  I haven't been on this forum but for a minute, and I can say that I absolutely enjoy reading all of the awesome information here.