What did I do Wrong? Bullet lube question.

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Offshore

Reaction score
I made a batch of lube last night and after it cooled (just sitting on the counter over night) I tried to remove the first bullet and the whole thing cracked! This was to pan lube some bullets. A few bullets I was able to remove with lube in the grooves, but for the most part it is not staying on the bullets. My recipe is as follows;

16 oz./50% beeswax
12.8 oz./40% Crisco vegetable shortening
3.2 oz./10% anhydrous lanolin

This is my first time making muzzleloader lube, but I think it should be "somewhat" pliable. I live in Florida, so it is not like it has been in freezing conditions. Can someone give me some guidance? I would be very much appreciative.

I have never used your recipe so I don't know how hard it is. It seems close to emerets lube. You want it to be somewhat soft , I normally pan lube by letting it take a set. then I put the pan in the fridge for about 20 min or so to firm up but its still soft. Then remove and your bullets should push out fairly easy. You might try adding a bit of high temp oil to your lube to soften it some, maybe olive or a high temp cooking oil. I have had the same results when I first started and left it too long.

Try pushing the bullets through while it is still a bit soft. Also remember to space your bullets about 3/4” apart minimum.
Walk

I used to use a similar formula. If you increase the beeswax a bit it will make it softer and a bit stickier. Trial and error method
You can try this but normally beeswax is just the carrier of the oil's. I could be wrong but I don't believe it will soften the lube.