Anti Powerbelt shooters???

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redbird

Reaction score
I am a new visitor to this forum. I have been watching another muzzleloader forum for about one month now and have noticed that a majority of of contributors to that site have, what appears to be, a negative opinions of the powerbelt bullets.

I have limited experience in muzzloaders. I bought a TC Scout carbine in 1993 and was less than pleased with the performance from that rifle. Last year, I bought a CVA Pro Magnum Kodiak. & used Powerbelt bullets & triple seven powder. I was satisfied with this combo, but disliked the constant berrel cleaning between shots. Finally this week end I was able to put together an outing at the range using the new Western Powder Co. Blackhorn 209 powder (80 grains)under a 245 gr. 50 cal. powerbelt Aeropoint and was EXTREMELY pleased with the results. 7/8" & 1-1/8" ..3 shot groups the first time out @ 100 yards. I could only shoot 2" plus groups using 250 gr. TC Shockwave bullets & the Powerbelt 295 gr. HP with the same 80 grs. BH209.

Here in NW lower Michigan our deer run mostly about 100 to 150 Lbs. The distances around here run from 20 yards to 150 yards on average. 200 yards is a long shot !!!!

The few hunters nearby that have used the powerbelts seem happy with the results.

My question is ....WHY are thse guys so anti Powerbelts on the other forum.

Because most dont understand that a pure lead conical can not be driven by 150g "3 pellets" at short distances of 20 yards and expect the bullet to hold together. They just dont understand that the 3 pellet load is for LONG range shooting, 150+ yards. The 3 pellet load in my opinion is also a gimmick to sell the expensive pellets. You'd need a really long barrel in order to have those 3 pellets burn completely.