Ammunition Question - New to Muzzleloading

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muzzle122

Reaction score
HI, I'm new to muzzloading and am excited for the hunting season coming up. I have a CVA Optima V2 and haven't shot it yet. Scope is bore sighted, but need to go to the range to really sight it in.

I bought Federal Premium 209MZ primers, White Hots, and 245Gr .50cal Powerbelt Bullets. Will this combo work well together? I've heard something about different primers for different types of black powders.

How many white hots could I add? 2? 3?

How often should I do a full clean of the gun?

TIA

Welcome to Modern Muzzleloader!

You can start with 2 pellets to see how accuracy is. Then try the three.

As for cleaning, you'll likely need to wipe the barrel after each shot while using the whitehots, just a damp patch down and back twice will do it. Always fully clean the gun as soon as possible after shooting.

Clean that gun only on days that end in Y, if you shot it at all. Like MrTom said, Start with 2 pellets and see how it does then try 3 pellets. You may find that somewhere between the two is best accuracy, thats why many of us use loose powder. But some get best accuracy with pellets. Try everything.

HI, I'm new to muzzloading and am excited for the hunting season coming up. I have a CVA Optima V2 and haven't shot it yet. Scope is bore sighted, but need to go to the range to really sight it in.

I bought Federal Premium 209MZ primers, White Hots, and 245Gr .50cal Powerbelt Bullets. Will this combo work well together? I've heard something about different primers for different types of black powders.

How many white hots could I add? 2? 3?

How often should I do a full clean of the gun?

TIA