Follow up shot question - jag or naked?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bgood

Reaction score
Ok - I'm new to ML but the thought ocurred to me on the range the other day. If I have to make a follow up shot with my Omega in a hunting situation it will be without running a patch. With 777 this means that pushing the bullet down will be a little difficult. Now here comes the question. I plan on using the Powerbelt hollow points in 245 gr. for deer. When loading a second shot in the field do you bother to scew on a loading jag or do you just push the bullet in with the bottom end of the rod sans jag? I am thinking that with a dirty bore and without the jag the hollow point will get damaged by the rod end. Do you guys carry a jag in case or load with just the rod?

With a powerbelt you will not need to use any special attachments on your rod.. just use a blunt end. The load VERY easy!

JJ

bgood said:
Ok - I'm new to ML but the thought ocurred to me on the range the other day. If I have to make a follow up shot with my Omega in a hunting situation it will be without running a patch. With 777 this means that pushing the bullet down will be a little difficult. Now here comes the question. I plan on using the Powerbelt hollow points in 245 gr. for deer. When loading a second shot in the field do you bother to scew on a loading jag or do you just push the bullet in with the bottom end of the rod sans jag? I am thinking that with a dirty bore and without the jag the hollow point will get damaged by the rod end. Do you guys carry a jag in case or load with just the rod?