Has anyone had trouble with Blackhorn 209 from the previous year?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dthree1

Reaction score
I have two TC Omegas that I am shooting, 250 Barnes T-EZ and 88gr(weight) of blackhorn 209.

I switched to blackhorn from 777 last year and loved it...........fast forward to last week and  I can not get my guns to group anything like last year when the powder was new/fresh. I have cleaned both guns and it didn't make any improvements. Shots are all over the place with several not even hitting a 24 x 24 target at 100 yards.

Has anyone else had trouble with this?

I've been using BH209 for many years now and have never had that problem with the prior years powder. It sounds like a loose scope problem or similar but that is very hard to believe seeing as you have two different guns and both are acting the same. The powder should be unaffected.

I don't have a clue!!

Glenn

Never had a problem like that before.

Do you clean your breech plugs properly with the cleaning drill bit? How old is the breech plug? Over time the flash holes erode and can cause poor accuracy.

:scratch: 

Try cutting back to 78.0 grains, BY Weight. That's the equivalent to 110 grains by volume. 88 grains of powder by weight could be your problem. Check your screws on the mount and scope like already suggested.
 I never had any trouble shooting year old Black horn 209. As long as you keep it sealed there is no shelf life problems. Keep that breech plug clean and free from carbon build up.

Ray...............

I only use BH209 in one gun therefore it takes a long time to go through a bottle of it. I am shooting powder that is 4+ years old. No problems.

Sounds like a scope problem to me.

FrontierGander said:
Never had a problem like that before.