Hornady XTP Max FPS

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Donny123

Reaction score
I have been shooting these pre packaged Hornady XTP 240gn HP's, 44cal with the green sabot and also the bulk Hornady XTP 230gn HP's that I load for my 1911, 45cal with a black SST sabot.

With 55-60 grains by weight of 777 they are shooting 1675-1725 fps. It was mentioned they had data on their website for the max fps but I can't find it. I remember reading max fps was right around what these are shooting. Accuracy is good but I'm wondering if they are ok at this speed. They are making clean holes through the paper at 100 yards.

I'm really new to muzzleloaders but I reload all types of metallic cartridges. Maybe 100 shots down range and maybe looking to work up a hunting load in the future but for now just punching paper.

CVA Optima V2 50 Cal

The 230 .45 is good to 1500 fps according to Hornady.
However! That's in a .45 caliber firearm. In a sabot, the jacket is intact on impact. No defects from rifling and I am firmly convinced that this gives the bullet the ability to withstand higher velocities.
I once shot a doe at 15 yards with a .40 caliber 200 grain XTP doing 1800 fps form a T/C Super .45 Black Diamond XR.
That bullet was rated to 1200 fps, but it hit the ball of her shoulder, a rib and went through her chest like a blender. She hauled up her landing gear and dropped.
I shot a deer with a Winchester 230 grain .45 hollow point out of a .50 Black Diamond. Talk about a cave of a hollow point! Left a 3 inch exit wound on a 25 yard shot. Muzzle velocity was 1575 fps.
If you look at high speed film of bullet impacts on steel, you'll see the jackets fail following the rifling.
One man's opinion.

The 230 .45 is good to 1500 fps according to Hornady.