Investarms/cabelas .54 cal

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

parafrog5045

Reaction score
Hi everyone: I'm new to muzzleloading and have a question about an Investarms .54 cal that I purchased. The gentleman I got it from does not know what the twist rate or model number is. Does anyone know how I can find out. The Investarms website was no help.

The Investarms Cabela's model is their Hawken correct? So that means it has a 1-48 twist. This is an all around twist. It will shoot roundball and conicals very well. I have a LYMAN TRADE RIFLE. This is also an Investarms rifle, the same as the Cabela's Hawkens except no brass.

90 grains of 2f powder, like Pyrodex RS or Black Powder and a .535 roundball with a .018 patch should shoot real well in that rifle. In mine it is a tack driver. And all the power you ever need for hunting.

Start your testing out at 80 grains and work up 5 grains at a time and see where the best accuracy is. You can also shoot .530 ball with good accuracy also. The .535 load a little tighter but still shoot great. Use a good lube and prepare the rifle real good before you shoot and the rifle will behave wonderful.

Thanks alot, I do appreciate it. It doesn't have the brass like the other cabelas rifles. The guy I bought it from never fired it and bought it back in the late 90's.

The are very good rifles. Cabela's also sells Blue Ridge Rifles but they are Pedersolli. Like I said, I have two Lyman Trade Rifles. Both flintlocks. One in .50 and one in .54. Both of them are excellent shooters. I also have two lf the Lyman Great Plains rifles. One is the Great Plains rifle wiht the 1-66 twist and the other is the Great Plains Hunter that has a 1-32 twist. Also Flintlocks. They are good shooters as well.