Knight peregrine problem help!!!

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mountain Tabbed Charlie

Reaction score
Ok so I’m far from a rookie when it comes to muzzleloading but I wouldn’t say I’m an expert or a gunsmith by any means. I’m proficient with my muzzleloaders but I’m devastated after my first day at the range with my new Knight peregrine. This is not meant to be a knock on knight rifles, I own several and I’ve never had an issue until now.

So here’s what happened and maybe you can help me understand. (FYI I’ve reached out to knight about warranty 3 days ago but have t heard back yet but I’m sure they’ll fix whatever the problem is) So here goes.

Range day, Scope mounted,loctite applied and ready for the first shot. I loaded 120 grains of BH 209 and a 275 fury 40 caliber hand sized bullet. I sized it appropriately so that it was barely starting into the barrel. I popped in a Winchester W209 primer and let it fly at 50 yards. Boom on paper. 3 more shots at the same charge and same sizing for the bore. I noticed the 4th shot went down smooth until it hit the middle of the barrel and there was a bit of drag but I was able to push through now problem and seat the round.

So after the 4th shot I decided to disassemble and clean the bore. Here comes the issue, the breech plug was extremely tough to get out until it was almost out and then it finally loosened up. I stripped it and cleaned and then went to reassemble but when I went to put the bolt in the bolt would not lock into position. So I then removed the breech plug to trouble shoot and found that the bolt locked into place fine once it was out so therefore my conclusion is that the breech plug is not going in all the way.