My first Muzzleloader

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdnelk

Reaction score
First,
Hello I my name is Mark and I have been hunting since the sixties, right now I mainly hunt Duck and Geese and big game with rifle when I can draw.

I am just starting out with muzzleloading and have been doing too much internet searching and hearing a bunch of different information on buying my first muzzleloader and have a few questions to help me buy one. I been on MonsterMuleys asking questions and was directed to this forum, I appreciate being sent here since the amount of information hear for a newbie is overwhelming.

I have 31 Colorado Elk points and not sure if ever I will get a rifle tag for the unit I am after, getting too old (66) and want to hunt while my health is still good. So planning on spending the next year + shooting a muzzleloader, so first I need to buy one. On the reading I have done and for my situation of possibly 1 hunt it seems that the CVA Optima V2 is the path I am looking at. So my question below will be based on the Optima. I know everyone has an opinion and would love to hear all of yours so I can decide.

Here we go
  • What barrel length? The V2 is 26” and the LR is 28”. Thoughts?
    • Also is the length about velocity or sighting accuracy
  • I thought I read that the Thumbhole stock is for shooting with a scope. Or if you buy it its not set up for open sights.
    • Thoughts on the thumbhole stock in general
    • Are both option of stocks come drilled for front and back sights?
  • Is the V2 tapped for open sights?
    • I read somewhere where it was recommended to develop your load with a scope and then go to a peep. I thought that was a great idea, do I need to order something special to do this?