Results Are In!

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alaska viking

Reaction score
FINALLY got the Impact out to the range today! Before I go further, I would like to thank all of my mentors here. You all helped me understand a subject that was totally foreign to me. While I have extensive experience with center fires, rim-fires, vertical and cross bows, a front-stuffer was intimidating. You walked me through it well.
I also want to thank Sqezer for so generously sending me, (FREE), so many different bullets and sabots, as well as ideas and instruction. Today wouldn't have gone that well with-out what you sent me.

O.K. The T/C Impact has a very tight bore, and I elected to start with 80 grains of Bh209 at 25 yards to get the scope and rifle on the same page. Decided on 250 grain Shock-Waves. Incredibly, after 3 shots, it was dialed in, and proceeded to produce a clover leaf.
Out o 100 yards we go, and bump to 100 grains. I set up two new targets, and decided to try the 290 TMZ. Man, that factory yellow sabot would BARLEY go down the tube. Well, I let it rip, and BOOM!! I was not ready for that! Understand, I have fired hundreds, many hundreds of .338 Mag rounds. This sucker was far more violent. Oh, and surprisingly, high and to the right. Scope adjustment, and repeat, to the tune of 10 times.
I had to clean the barrel after 6 shots to get the TMZ's down the tube. Well, it then dawned on me that Sqezer had sent me multiple different sabots, and I remembered reading on the Barnes site that the yellows are for the slightly over-bored barrels. AH-HA!
Switched to the MMP-HPH24, and Wa-La! Piece of cake, and WOW! The groups tightened up to 1" at 100.
Shoulder experiencing a bit of pain now, (25 loads later), but heck, I want to try a few more varieties. I will say that my particular Impact does NOT like Bor-Locks. 6" pattern, anyone?