200 gr Shockwaves - Love them or Hate them

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jsteurrys

Reaction score
I shot some 200 gr Shockwaves will the new Harvester 50/40 CrushRib Sabots out of my Knight DISC yesterday. This is the most accurate combination I have found for this muzzleloader to date and I have been shooting it for 6 years. I was shooting both 115 gr and 120 gr charges of Blackhorn using Federal 209A primers to ignite the charge. The three shot groups were between 1" to 1 3/4" at 100 yards. I did some shooting at a 15" X 15" target at 300 yards for grins and was hitting it. :D The question is have is how well to they actually work on deer? The plan would be to shot them behind the shoulder. Let me know your experiences good and bad.

I too am hoping the perform as well on deer as they do on paper. Most accurate bullet I've shot in my Elite so far. I would rather shoot a 250 or 300gr SST but I just can't get them to shoot anywhere near as well as the 200gr SW.

I would like to try them on deer,but our state regs. say's .44cal. or larger! They do shoot well,and flat too. Ron

I have shot deer with them at 60 and 115 yards using 100 grains BM'3, none made it further than a 60 yard death run. I did shoot one (115 yds) through both front shoulders, the bullet was just under the hide on the off side, went about 50 yards and piled up within sight. There was no blood trail going through the shoulders, but wasn't needed in this case. The 60 yard shot was perfectly placed right behind the front shoulder and out the other side, this was a double blood trail wider than a sidewalk. A blind man could have found that one.