Bullet Choice for Black Bear

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kraigwy

Reaction score
I'm rather new to in-line black powder shooting having bought a TC Omega about 18 months ago, It shoots good, but excluding shooting one doe (125 yards) last fall I haven't done any hunting with it. It hammered the doe, only went straight down TC Shock Waves.

Now the problem, I leave next week on a guided bear hunt in Idaho. This will be from a blind no more then 150 yards. I have three bullets to choose from, TC Shock wave 300 gr.. Hornady 240 gr XTP, and Hornady 250 gr SSTs.

I know there may be other/better bullets, but I live in the country and I will not be able to get to town before the hunt. Idaho has some good size blacks, plus I have a wolf tag.

Which of the three above would be the best bullet? I'll be pushing them with 3 50 grn pellets, (150 gr total).

I personally do not care for the Shockwave/SST bullets. The XPT would do ok but for my taste the 240 is a little light for Bear. It's kind of a bit late to be changing loads around with only a week to go but hopefully you have the time to do some testing before you go.

Having said that...of the Bullets you have mentioned, IF I had to pick one of those, and only those, I would go with the 300gn Shockwave. I like the heavier bullet for Bear. You don't mention the powder Type or charge you used with the Shockwave on the Deer. I personally would use no less than 100 grains of loose Powder with the shockwave on Bear and would most likely use a bit more if it is accurate in your gun. It should have enough punch to break down the shoulder if you have to which is one reason I like the heavier bullets

I know you live in the country But, IF you have a place you get these I would run there and see if they had a box of 300gn XTPs, but I prefer the 300gn Speer Deep Curl.

Good Luck on the hunt.