Cold weather barrel sweating.

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MSalyards

Reaction score
I have heard about leaving your rifle outside because of the barrel condensating or sweating. What do you do when traveling? Can't store in a warm pickup cab, and should a barrel plug - balloon be removed to allow it to breath? What to do when the weather turns from hot to cold. I've never dealt with this before as this is my first year hunting with a ML. My buddie just ruined an awesome elk hunt because of this and not knowing how to deal with it.

Out all day, In my Warm house all night. I hunted 6 days last year in 5-10 degree weather, Not a problem :yeah:

Muley Hunter said:
I've never been hit by a truck crossing the street. That doesn't mean i'll stop looking both ways before crossing.

I’d Say you got a SOLID plan going there Pete :lol:

My buddie had a 4 day Bull tag in New Mexico. The first three days were at 60 degrees and rain off and on. Then it got down to 15. Bulls everywhere and they were hunting a big 8x8 they spotted the first day. The last day they decided to make meat with a 6x6 and gun wouldn't fire. Barrel was full of moisture and powder ( BH) had turned to goo, and he did have a balloon on the barrel. Inexperienced with muzzleloader hunting I just don't want to make the same mistakes. That's why I'm asking.

I can muzzleloader hunt the entire month of December and January, I often wondered about that, I leave my gun loaded until I kill a deer, some time that can be 2 weeks in and out of the house, never had a problem.between Christmas and new year I hunt every day,and never unload,that’s in and out quite a bit?