First Muzz muley Utah public land DIY

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Goldrums

Reaction score
I am new to muzzleloading this year.

I picked up an Encore last year and I have enjoyed the gun. I’d heard that there had been some real advancements in muzzleloader technology and I saw a used barrel go on sale last winter. Long story short, I ended up selling the barrel and buying a new endeavor barrel last spring.

I spent some time on the range and did a lot of research online. I spent WAY more money on different powders, primers, sabots and bullets than I ever did on the gun itself.

I finally settled on this combination: 100 gr. BH209, Federal primers, CR sabots and 300 gr. XTP. In Utah we are not allowed to have any magnification on our sights for muzzleloader, so I went with the Vortex red dot strikefire.

I don’t know how it’s possible, but I have spent many hours at the range and I can shoot that gun better than any other rifle I own. On average, I can shoot 1.5” groups at 100 yards. I have done better, but on average I get 1.5”.

Our muzzleloader season in Utah is early. This year, I was all set for a hot hunt in middle September because weather leading up to the hunt had been very hot and very dry. Then, about a week before the hunt, some pressure moved in and brought cold. It brought wind and snow in the high elevations.

I had a fried with me on the hunt. Two days before the season opener his Optima blew up in his face at the range. Rather that throw in the towel he came with me and we agreed that if we saw a buck, he would shoot my gun.