Hey from Idaho

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kunsangsean

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm Sean and I live in Boise, Idaho. I am just getting into this after I found out there is a late muzzleloader season for cow elk that's part of my archery tag. I posted some questions over in the New to Muzzleloading section. It's been fun learning how to get started, but it also kind of scares the crap out of me. So I think I need to learn more to make sure I'm doing everything as safely as possible. The first time I took the gun to the range I thought about the gun blowing up every time I pulled the trigger. If anyone knows of a local club, or wouldn't mind taking a new guy to the range - I'd love to hear about it. I shot some with my dad in the past but he did all the setup, I just pulled the trigger, and I trusted that he knew what he was doing.

Does anyone else think a CVA wolf shooting 420 grain conical and 70 grains T7 kicks real hard or am I just a recoil wimp?

:welcome: To the brotherhood. I’d imagine that load would have a bit of a whallop.

Welcome. I think a Wolf is a light gun and 420 grains is a lot of projectile. Yeah, Im going to think it has a little pucker to it. But if you are concerned about your gun blowing up there may be some imagined recoil in there too. Your load as described is safe. Well within limits. Make sure the conical is firmly seated on the powder. Relax and shoot.

When I shoot my 338 win mag its usually during the summer in Tshirt weather. Throw a towel or sweatshirt over your shoulder and that will absorb (soften) some of the recoil. It also puts the scope a little farther from your eye to protect from a magnum eyebrow.

Hope that helps.

Welcome from NC , take the time to read the posts on this site and a lot of questions will be answered before you even ask. Enjoy

Welcome from Oregon.