Hornady FTX Range Report

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hulions

Reaction score
I took the Encore Endeavor and some of the new Hornady FTX bullets to the range this weekend. I was using the .430/265 gr. bullet with the Harvester green and green crush rib sabots. The weather was about 55 - 60 degrees with little to no wind. I already had some tubes filled with 110gr/volume or 77/gr by weight of BH209 so I decided that was what I would use on this trip. I first shot a fouling shot with a 250gr shockwave and a harvester Short Black sabot to make sure the scope was still on. It was, so I started shooting the FTX's. I noticed that the crushed rib loaded quite a bit easier so I figured it wouldn't shoot as well as the regular with the BH209 powder. I settled on the regular green sabot( I thought they were a little more consistent) and started to fine tune it a little and try to shoot a group. The first three shots were just to the left of the center line so I adjusted the scope 2 clicks to the right and shot the last two shots that cut the center line on the target about a half inch apart. Here are a couple of the targets.

.430/265gr. FTX/Harvester Green Sabot.
HornadyFTXRangeReport001.jpg

.430/265gr. FTX/Harvester Green Crush Rib Sabot
HornadyFTXRangeReport002.jpg

Thanks Saxman. 110 yards. I really think if I did my part the groups would shrink even more. I get impatient and have a hard time making myself squeeeeze the trigger.

BC