Muzzleloader with thumb screw breech plug

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DRS244

Reaction score
I don’t think I want to carry a breech plug tool with me in the woods. I lost the one for my TC Omega and have to get a new one, don’t want that to happen while hunting.

Any recommendations for a good inline would be appreciated.

I’m new to modern inline with breech plugs. Shot many side locks but never inline. I was thinking along the lines if something went wrong and I needed to take plug out and push the load out.

I’m new to modern inline with breech plugs. Shot many side locks but never inline. I was thinking along the lines if something went wrong and I needed to take plug out and push the load out.

If you throw a screw-type ball puller in your possibles bag, that’ll likely allow you to pull any load that needs to be taken out while in the field. If you never needed to do this with a sidelock… congratulations. You obviously have been paying close attention to the details of your loading routine! 👍

Try a few reps at the range by loading w/o powder, to get comfortable with your abilities.

I’m thinking about something along the lines of one of these:

1671244655225.jpeg
1671244705319.jpeg

There are also ramrods that have a tip that unscrews, to reveal a ball puller. Something like this:
1671244876931.jpeg

***Of course if you’re looking for an excuse for getting a new rifle… NONE of those will work. In that case, you’d better start shopping for a new rifle, where the breech plug can be removed with just your fingers! 🤪

“can be removed with just your fingers” Now your talking👍 Now to convince my wife I need a new rifle.

On a serious note, I appreciate your advice and suggestions.

I believe most of the new break action inline muzzleloaders have what you want.