New Mexico Elk Hunt

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dom

Michigan, da Thumb
Supporting member
Reaction score
It's tough to draw a Bull Elk tag in New Mexico, as you do not get any yearly point advantage. Everyone starts with same chance every year. I've been applying for a few years, Muzzleloader, Rifle, Mobility Impaired . . . and coming up empty handed year after year.

About 10 years ago I hunted for Mule Deer there, and was impressed with how many Elk I saw, and thought, man I'd like to come back here and hunt Elk some day . . . well the years keep going by, you keep getting older, you may never draw . . .

So I bit the bullet and bought a private landowner Cow tag. I want to eat Elk, lol.

Great hunt, enjoyed the experience and the area i hunted around, Cloudcroft, New Mexico.

While stationed in Germany, I toured the Heym factory. Was impressed, and ordered a double rifle, a Model 26b over/under, in 8x57 JRS. As a break open, there is no action so it is very handy, plus you got two shots as fast as you can pull the trigger. It was regulated with Norma ammo, but I got a good reload for it using 200gr Accubonds and Reloader 15.

We saw a lot of Elk, and I was able to get a good Cow. With a lot invested I didn't leave much to chance on the shot, though the first shot was on the money and in the boiler room, the Cow ran so I shot it again. It ended up in a creek, running about 50 yards after the shots.

I'm looking forward to eating lotsa Elk this year, 210 lbs on the hook at processor. I had it processed and dry ice got it home and in my freezer no problem.

I hunted with STC Outfitting, Cloudcroft, New Mexico. Steve Connor is a straight shooter, and provides a fair and good hunt. Waidmannsheil, Dom.

Attachments

• 20231202_100242.jpg
    20231202_100242.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 0
  • HEYM 26b.jpg
    HEYM 26b.jpg