New to Muzzleloading - CVA OPtima Elite Ordered

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marshall9779

Reaction score
I am fairly new to muzzleloading. I have shot my Dad's Encore and took it on a hunt but never shot other than at a range. I can't use my rifle where I want to hunt in Maryland where I just moved late last year. I ordered a CVA Optima Elite stainless .50 Cal. I couldn't resist the features and the stainless Bergarra barrel for $389. I have or have ordered everything I need. I picked up a bottle of Jim Shockey's Gold and the 200gr TC Shockwaves. I wanted a flatter shooting round. It won't be in for about 5 more weeks though. I am really leaning toward loose powder. I think I can keep things more consistant that way. Does anyone with a CVA, whether with the Bergarra barrel or not, have any comments of performance, preffered load combinations etc. I would appreciate any feedback. Thanks

Marshall welcome to the forum and the sport. From all I have read, you got a good rifle. You might keep your eye out for some Black Horn 209 powder as it should shoot well in your Optima and might give you better results then Shockey Gold.

200 grain Shockwaves should shoot well, but time will tell. Also the 250 grain shoot well out of my CVA. As do Powerbelts of course, but they can get expensive. All you can do is try different loads.

How far do you suspect your shots will be and can you use a scope?