Perfect Treestand? Big Guy? Fear Of Heights?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello folks!
As a newbie here, I’m really enjoying the forum!
I wanted to give you guys a review of a treestand I bought last year.

I’ve always been a big guy and last fallI was measuring out at 6’4” - 348lbs.
I’ve never liked heights at all and love hunting!
Since I wasn’t a big fan of lock ons or climbers I did most of my hunting from the ground because I really love to be mobile and still do.
But last fall I found a climbing treestand that is comfortable , not to heavy and rated at 350lbs!
Best news is that I trust it!
I went to Sportsman’s warehouse and bought a summit Titan .
After practicing and testing with it I grew a lot of confidence in it!
I hunted out of it about 10 times and then hog hunted and practiced all summer.

This past August I was diagnosed with Diabetes and had to drop some pounds.
I had already lost about 20, but since August I’ve dropped 66 more with diet and exercise . I’m now at 254 lbs and feel great, but still a work in progress!

My goal is to take a self guided , public land muzzle loader hunt In Colorado or Montana next fall. Still got a lot of getting in shape to do.

The moral of the story is the Summit Titan.
When I got it I climbed up on it about 4 feet and had my son hand me 200 lbs of weight plates. So I had around 550 lbs on the treestand.
I jumped up and down on it and it never budged !
I then took it to my buddy’s shop where he sprayed it with magnaflux powder and used a black light to check the aluminum and welds for cracks . It was perfect!
My worry about quality and strength was put to bed.
I then bought a hunter safety system harness that barely fit at the time because I was so big. I tested on it a little and was convinced that it would keep the top of my head off the dirt.