Questions Before The First Shot

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nevadabill

Reaction score
I am new to ML. I purchased a barrel from Mossberg just to see if I like the sport.
Mossberg nos not recommend the use of plastic patches. I am unclear if I can shoot sabots as the e-mailed me back and said to use the slugs without the plastic.They say I can use conicals without any patches. The highest powder charge they recommend is 95 grains either Black Powder or Pyrodex. What about Triple7?
I contacted Hodgdon and they sent me a pamphlet which helps a little.
They recommend the use of fiber wads in all there loads. They also told me that it would be safe to shoot Power Belts as the plastic gas check is conected well.
There load limits are 100 grain either Triple 7 or Pyrodex. They say never exceed the manufacture's load recommendations and Mossberg says never exceed the Powder manufactures recommendations.
Your help with these issues would be deeply appreciated.

The plastic patch mentioned is a sabot exclusively for roundballs. I'm pretty sure most if not all manufacturers disallow it. It hasn't been made in a while as far as I know. You'll be fine using sabots with bullets. With a max of 95 gr of BP or Pyrodex you should limit yourself to 80 gr of loose FFG triple seven.