Shooting balls out of my optima.

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mau118

Reaction score
I just purchased a CVA optima .50. I am new to muzzleloading but can tell I am already hooked.

Does anyone know what size balls to shoot out of this gun? I would like to shoot these for cheap rounds at the range. Shooting sabot or powerbelts just for fun may start to get a little expensive.

thank for the help. I realize I could search and find my answer but you guys might be faster.

.490 with a .015 patch

you may also want to buy a package of those felt wads that go on top of the powder before you load the patched ball.

If you use pyrodex start out at 40 grains. If using triple 7 i highly would recommend that you buy those felt wads.

Thanks.

I just find this in CVA's website.

"Round ball and patch loads are not recommended for CVA break action rifles. The fast rifling pitch (1 turn in 28 inches) will not properly stabilize round balls and will result in less than satisfactory accuracy."

I guess the only reason they dont recommend it is because of accuracy? There is no damage that can be done to the barrel is there?

if you use to much powder, the accuracy can be really bad. i used to shoot PRBs out of a cva staghorn some years back with 40gr pyrodex rs and the accuracy was awesome.

Like everything, you have to get out there with some stuff and then start working on it.

No,,you'll not damage the barrel. Accuracy might stink though. Try 30-35gr. of powder. It's a good "plinking" load if ya just wanna have some fun. 8)

If you want some cheap shooting, get XTP's in bulk or some other bullet. And then get the sabots in bulk as well it will cut the cost down.