side lock ??

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UtahRob

Reaction score
someone asked this ?? on another forum , any idea's

He did not say how much or what powder !!

Muzzleloader Problem

Postby BugBuilder on Oct 04, '08, 8:10
I shoot an older CVA .50 caliber Hawkins that has a 1:60 twist. I had not shot it for a year or so, and when I started shooting before the Muzzy hunt it was only at the range so I always wore safety glasses. I noticed I was getting powder spots on my right lens. It is apparently blowing back on me when I shoot. After alot of shooting I actually am getting a small powder burn on my forhead as well. It kind of worried me and thus I carried and wore safety glasses on my hunt.
Any idea what would cause this?
Thanks,
Bugbuilder :?:

UtahRob

I would assume the blow back is coming from the nipple/drum area. My first thought was that the blowback might be coming back up from the nipple pushing the hammer of the nipple then spaying/defecting some blow back towards the face.... Another possibility might be the drum being loose where it screws into the barrel allowing gas to come back from there....

In any case iwould be finding out where the material is coming from nd what is happening to the cap.

I guess I am assuming it is a cap lock - or is it a flint lock?

Just some guesses - I would interested in knowing if the cap is still under the hammer after firing or is it gone...

sabotloader said:
UtahRob

I would assume the blow back is coming from the nipple/drum area. My first thought was that the blowback might be coming back up from the nipple pushing the hammer of the nipple then spaying/defecting some blow back towards the face.... Another possibility might be the drum being loose where it screws into the barrel allowing gas to come back from there....