Sighting in issues CVA Optima

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdhaines32

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the world of muzzleloaders. Sorry for the long post just trying to get some help and answers with a frustraiting situationMy question is regarding sighting in. i have a CVA Optima with a 3x9x40 Nikon Prostaff scope. I am shooting two pellets of Triple 7 with 295 grain Power Belts. I have been using it for the last two years, but had alot of accuracy issues. This year I decided to get more serious about it and took it to the range the other day to shoot.

I am trying to sight it in at 100 yards. The first shot was a tad high and to the left but real good for my shooting off of sand bags. The next shot was no where on the paper target. So I cleaned with a patch and fired to more shots not hitting the paper. Cleaned again and hit way low to the left. Made the scope adjustments and missed the target again. My father who is a much better shot than me was along so he shot and hig bottom left corner of the paper target twice but not in the rings, and missed the target the last shot. We cleaned and adjusted the scope some more and he hit in line with the center of the rings on the target but about 3" left. At this time we were frustrated and gave up for the day.

I took the scope off the rings and screw was cracked leaving me to believe this may have been causing this, but it doesn't account for the issues I had the last two years which is similar to this year's issues. I bought new rings by Durasight and sent the scope back to Nikon to have it checked out just in case. I did shoot the with the open sights and it was good out to 50 yards, so it leaves me to believe it has to be the scope or the rings.