Stripped scope mount hole on new ML

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Luddy79

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm brand new to muzzleloaders (and your forum) and just got a CVA optima V2 (open sights) shipped to me.

I sure was excited when it came on Thursday, but this morning I noticed that the scope mount hole closest to the breech plug has a hole there, but also that there are practically no threads in it at all. I don't have any calipers or anything at home right now to confirm this yet, but, since the gun is new, I suspect that they oversized the hole before running the tap in. If I squint I think I can see where the tap barely swiped the hole, but that's about the extent of it. It's possible that I'm looking at the helix from the drill and they completely forgot to tap it, but I suspect the former.

Background:

1) Like I said, this is my first muzzleloader. I've shot other 'cartridge rifles' a fair amount.

2) I'd like to have this rifle be accurate enough to be able to have some fun at the range, to hunt here in Colorado (where they apparently don't allow scopes anyway), and just see if I like the whole muzzleloader experience.

3) I always meant to and still do, but I haven't actually gotten around to hunting yet. So, zero experience there.

4) It's important to me to be able to ethically harvest some meat, meaning I want to be able to place consistent shots in a deer's vital zone for example. From my research, it seems doable to work up to this kind of accuracy and consistency with a muzzleloader even with iron sights if I'm not taking shots much more than 100 yards. I don't mind passing on some shots to make this happen.

5) I'm going to be graduating soon, so I don't have that much extra cash and I might be moving to a state that does allow scopes for hunting, or else I wouldn't really worry about ever putting a scope on.