Suction whilst loading prb?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Widows Son

Reaction score
Hello all,
I’ve finally got to the range this morning to fire my Pedersoli Plainsman .45

I’ve been shooting traditional muzzleloaders for 40 years and I have never experienced this problem. I wonder if anyone has any advice. 

I’m using a 440 round ball with .015 patches. My lubricant is a my tried and true beeswax olive oil mix. 

I can start the prb with my thumb and it slides down the bore as it should, however, the damned weird part, is that the load sticks to my ramrod and returns up to the muzzle. I have to use my heavy brass cleaning rod to “pack” it on the powder charge. 

I have never experienced this phenomenon before. It’s almost like the rifling is not gripping the prb. I can feel a definite suctioning when I withdraw the ramrod. 
Accuracy at 25 meters was quite good. 
This rifle was made in 1976, and whilst it has been taken care of, the rifling looks rather shallow. The bore is shiny and shows no pitting.

This is my first pedersoli rifle. I don’t know if the rifling was originally shallow cut from the factory, or if it has just worn down over the last 43 years. Or, maybe the rifling isn’t the issue? The nipple that came with the rifle had a big hollow base. Perhaps that has something to do with the suction?

I’m going back to the range tomorrow for round two. I’ll report on what happens. However if any wiser men than I have experienced this kind of loading problem I’d like to hear about it 

Regards

Sounds like a VERY loose patched ball. I'd increase the patch thickness. Also inspect the ball seater on the ramrod, could be that its catching up on the patch and pulling it back out as you remove the rod?

If "suction" is pulling the ball back up with the ramrod, I'd say that patch is much to thin.