Traditions firearms

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dbc5150

Reaction score
I am new to the whole hunting and ML thing i was wondering what you guys think about traditions firearms ML's are they a good gun or not. The reason i ask this will be my first year hunting here in Michigan and where i will be hunting you can only use a ML or shot gun. I would rather have the ML but dont know if these are good guns. :roll:

I've owned a couple traditions. First one was an early model evolution. Shot many deer with the firearm. Accuracy was good. The older models had a spring loaded bolt, which wasn't locked down. When carrying one handed, my sleeve would catch the bolt and lift it up just enough to cause it to fly back. Nothing dangerous, just noisy and luckily never cost me a shot on a deer.

Purchased a pursuit pro last year to play with. My model has the steel receiver. Sent it back to Traditions because the trigger pull was horrible. They adjusted it to a 3.5 lb trigger pull. I like the fact that the safety can be engaged with the hammer in full cock, locking the hammer in place. Deer comes along, all you have to do is push the safety off and shoot. Unfortunately, I never had the opportunity to fire it yet. With my prohunter shooting so well, probably sell the pursuit pro to free up some funds.

I have a pursuit pro and have gotten so fantastic groups at 100 yds. 1 1/4" I shoot XTP 240 gr with T7 100 gr pellets great gun great accuracy for the money

Any of the modern day inlines with the faster twist barrels will normally shoot a reasonable accuracy hunting load. The trick is to find out what they shoot. As to the quality of Tradition Rifles, I own three of them and have found them to be good shooters.