Wad Bennefit?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JStanley

Reaction score
After much time away from muzzleloaders this past 2 yrs, I finally got to return some attention to my favorite rifle: S91 .451.

I have never used over powder wads before but have a bunch that flounder gave me a few years back, made of fiber. My load is 70gr T73f with Edmehlig's 350 gr HP Gould bullet. 100 yard shot groupings with Lyman peep sight looked identical with and without wad, with one exception: shots with wad were dead on at 100 yds and the no-wad group was 3" higher than bull. :think: Any thoughts as to why and which load is better?

While we're on the subject, I'm about to try some No Excuses 385 grain in the same rifle, with a Muzzleloader Original lubricated wad. T7, 3f.
Anybody got any pet loads or advice?

The main reason I use the wads is because I feel they act as a buffer between the lead conical and the powder and thus they cut down on leading up your barrel.
Nice to see you on here Jackie, been a long time. Glad you're still shooting that .451 I sold you.
Art

Do you have a chronograph to shoot through? I’m guessing the wad load is somewhat faster. With the faster load, your barrel isn’t as high when the bullet leaves the barrel and the shot is hitting the target lower.

Re: RE: Wad Bennefit?

JStanley said:
After much time away from muzzleloaders this past 2 yrs, I finally got to return some attention to my favorite rifle: S91 .451.