What is the maximum distance for elk?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to muzzleloading. I have a Thompson Omega (2006). I have a elk/mule deer hunt coming up in CO this fall. I would like to try my muzzleloader, but my outfitter thinks that they don't have the range or power to kill an elk (unless it's close). He thinks that 250 yards would be too far to shoot. What distance can the you effectively expect to kill an animal the size of an elk with the Omega? Also, any suggestions on loads, scopes etc. would be appreciated.
Thanks!
:?:

On elk-sized game I would personally limit myself to 175 yds. All depends what you're comfortable with and at what distance you can make a clean kill.

Remember Colorado only allows Black Powder, NO Sabots, and OPEN SIGHTS ONLY (NO SCOPES) SO with that being said 100-125 MAX

I was told that during RIFLE season, (the time we are going) you can use any legal weapo, including scoped muzzleloaders. If I've got the wrong info, I will have to look into that further.

Thanks!
Jeff

Chainsawlaskowski said:
I was told that during RIFLE season, (the time we are going) you can use any legal weapo, including scoped muzzleloaders. If I've got the wrong info, I will have to look into that further.

Thanks!
Jeff

That makes sense to me.

As far as a Scope, i would buy a vari xIII 3.5x10x40. A VXII would be a better choice if you have the cash.

As far as how far you can shoot an ELk???? You will here alot of different answers. Mine is pretty simple, if it's over 200yds i'm taking a CF rifle. Ihave shot and killed father then 200yds with a Muzzleloader, but if i know its going to be farther i will choose a different weapon.