Why so many bullet problems?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HuntingAddict

Reaction score
I can't understand why there are so many reports of problems with sooo many ML bullets. I just started hunting with my ML so I'm pretty new to it. I don't know what bullet to trust. It seems like every one I read about the performance is hit or miss. I thought that with as effective as a 45/70 rifle is that it would be a no brainer for a ML to be a sure thing, pull trigger = dead deer. My omega shoots 100 yard groups with all holes touching but I'm still nervous about it with all the poor performance reports for bullets. What gives?

I don't think I've ever read a bad report on Nosler bullets other than they are a little expensive. They have perfect on game performance... for deer try the 260 grain Partition in a HPH 12 or if you have a tight bore the HPH 24. For bigger game the 300 grain PP is awesome. Personally I shoot the 300 grain for everything, it was very deadly on whitetails this year... two bang flops and one that went 30 yards.

A lot of the reports on bad bullet performance also have pictures of very dead deer. Much of what is considered poor performance is good performance to someone else. I have had great luck with the SST/Shockwave family. The only bullet I would not hunt with is the powerbelt but thousands of deer get killed with em every year. Go hunt, don't worry.

A lot of the reports on bad bullet performance also have pictures of very dead deer.

THANK you! :prayer:

In fact for the most part I hear of mostly GOOD to GREAT bullet performance on whitetails!

Bullets that almost ALWAYS seem to work(of course you HAVE to put it where it needs to go!):

1. Parker 275gr Ballistic Extreme
2. Hornady .452 XTP 250gr and 300gr
3. Hornady-T/C 200gr/250gr SST/SW
4. Nosler Partition Gold .451 260gr