Wiping down the barrel after each shot?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

animater9

Reaction score
I have owned 2 ML rifles and a ML pistol for around a year now and (I have many excuses as to why I haven't shot them yet, but that is what they are excuses), and still researching.
I have read a number of post and I keep coming up with the same question.

When in battle how can you afford to take so much time before each shot? It seems to me that if I have to clean after each shot or 5 shots what did the soldiers do, hold up a flag and call off the enemy while your doing house cleaning? Yes that sounds stupid!
When you have a bunch of people shooting at you how do you do this cleaning? With modern weapons you just keep shooting.
I have much more research to do, but I will be killing some paper this year!

As for the heat of battle I have no experience there. But for hunting my advice is this. Make the first one count. For any kind of hunting that advice holds true. The second shot is usually at a running animal who has hit overdrive. Same for hunting birds or even rabbits. Once you shoot the rocket fuel and survival instincts kick in and lets get the heck out of here.

As a group we have a variety of techniques between shots. My personal is a spit patch. Toss a patch in the mouth and get a little spit on it. Push it up and down the entire length of the barrel a couple of times and toss it aside. Then take a dry patch and do the same. Then reload. By now the game your hunting if not dead is well beyond your ability to catch up with it.

I read here recently about using a lens cleaner in place of a spit patch. Ill be trying that soon. Sounds like a good idea. Some use 209 powder and don't swab between shots.