Wonder what the ORDEAL was today????????

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grouse

LIFETIME SUPPORTER
Supporting member
Reaction score
Took the Savage to the range to find out nothing grouped at all. :cry: Probably plastic build up in my barrel from those 195grn Barnes. Or the Breach plug needs cleaned. Before i started shooting tonight. I ran some patches down the Barrel with Hoppes on it. Well, that did absolutely know good. Anyway, i started with about a 5"group with the 260 DeadCenter. Then i tried a 250grn XTP. That group was about 5" as well. Then i tried a .458 Barnes. That bullet didnt even hit the target. Then my favorite, a 300grn XTP. That was the best group tonight. 4" at best.

I'm really starting to believe my Savage needs cleaned every 25 to 35 shots for the best accuracy. I really need to monitor shot's thru that gun. My breach plug is the key. It just needs to be cleaned more often then expected???? Oh well, i've done this before. Tear the whole gun apart and clean everything. Next time out, 3/4" groups.

Grouse, what ventliner are you using, RW's or the standard issue one?

I BET it was mostly the heat! When you add up the hot conditions and THEN all the other little factors, well I guess during the hot weather we need to pay attention to the little things a little more.

I'm sure you'll get your groups back!

big6x6 said:
I'm sure you'll get your groups back!

Yes i will. I've been down this road before. You are 100% correct about the heat as well. That on top of plastic in my barrel and a dirty Breach plug. :cry: :)

That on top of plastic in my barrel and a dirty Breach plug.

I just finished cleaning three breech plugs myself! Boy they fill up with carbon in a hurry! Still in the process of cleaning both Savages!