practical smokeless loads

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adrexco

Reaction score
Hi All,
I am a newbie here, as well as a newbie to muzzle loading. I?ve had a muzzle loader for years and have used it for hunting ML special seasons but really never ?got into it? that much.

For years I?ve shot center-fire and reload all my own ammunition, so I?m pretty knowledgeable about loads, pressures, practices, etc.

What I?m struggling with is the reasons why a smokeless powder can?t be substituted for black powder.

Why would it be dangerous to use a load of 50grs of IMR4198 with a 250gr flat base bullet in a plastic sabot in a 50cal 1:28 twist muzzleloading rifle?

Would such a load exceed the pressures of a typical 150grs ff BP load?

How can the saboted shot gun loads use smokeless safely? Why couldn?t a load like 35grs of IMR SR 4756 and a 250gr saboted bullet be safe?

What am I missing here?

Thanks for any insight for you experienced guys can offer.

If you do not have a muzzleloader designed for smokeless the barrels may not withstand the pressure and blow up.
I would think 35 gr. of 4756 would be very high pressure load even for a smokeless barrel.

I can't see how the nearly 0.250" wall of a ML barrel is that much weaker then the 0.060" wall of a 20ga shot gun. 32grs of IMR SR 4756 and a 300gr saboted slug is pretty typical for a 20ga rifled shotgun. Velocity of such a load is in the 1600fps. Only real difference is there is a good amount more volume in the 20ga barrel to fill.

I still don't get it.......

Its not only the barrel but a combination of all the design factors. Thats why when you see a T/C or H&R 45/70 conversion, they are not just using a OEM T/C plug. They are normally using a Savage, PA Petes or a SMI breach plug which have all been well tested.