120 vs 140 grains Blackhorn 209

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
WV Hunter I agree completely,, and my mind keeps going back to the science around center fire rifles, powder columns and harmonics,, I understand muzzleloading we're looking at a completely different set of variables, but I still believe powderburn and the efficiency of powder burn in relation to harmonics is important for muzzleloading also maybe I'm wrong I'm still learning,, I know this from a lot of centerfire experience long distance accuracy is as much about harmonics as it is about velocity when you get out past seven or eight hundred yards you have to have a consistent harmonic signal,, just curious and again I'm learning what kind of velocity differences do you have when you're shooting megaloads , do velocity extreme spreads etc stay constant? Or are they better in balance when shooting a hundred to 120 grains by weight y'all help me learn

Ya'll can keep the 120-140, especially with the heavier bullets. I value my nose and eye socket too much. :roll:
That lead sled is cheatin!

As someone who is primarily a hunter, and definitely not a long range competition shooter... I see alot of guys that are hunters (and relatively uneducated about BP rifles) going straight to the heaviest load the manufacturer approves. They automatically think "more is better", when it may not be.
My buddy was shooting 150gr T7 in his rifle, until I got with him and we worked up a load. It ended up a good bit lower gave much better groups, if I recall it was around 105 or 110. Substantially less kick, and for him his groups shrunk down by more than half.