Blackhorn 209 by weight is not measuring up to volume line

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to muzzleloading and I'm trying different powder/bullet combos for better accuracy. I want to try blackhorn 209 powder (my muzzleloader supports it). I am using a "MAXUS Precision Pocket Scale 200g x 0.01g" that I bought off Amazon and has a grains setting (but strangely shows up at gn instead of gr). I bought "ELK Muzzleloader Powder Charge Measuring Tubes" also off Amazon. I am filling charge tubes up with 70 gr by weight, 77 gr by weight, and 84 gr by weight (I'm aware this is the maximum safe load). I put the powder pan on the scale and turned it on so it zeros out with the pan on it. I fill the power pan with 84 gr of blackhorn 209, but when I pour the powder into the charge tube, it only fills to around 97 grains by volume. I expected it to be close to the 120 grains by volume mark. Am I doing something wrong here or should this not be close to the 120 grains by volume mark?

scale.jpg
tube.jpg

Thanks,
Impalanator

Unless you are going for high precision shooting you use volume not weight for Measuring the charges. The instructions for Bh209 also say to use volume and not weight. The weight will vary from lot to lot when they manufacture the propellant. But the volume tends to stay the same.

But as mentioned it is a good idea to verify that the plastic charge tubes are measuring OK.

This is a common question among newer shooters. The answer is that those tubes are not accurately marked for volume. I’d go so far as to say the marks are for looks only.