Accuracy tweaks for Omega?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GLC

Reaction score
I am fairly new to inline muzzleloading and bought my first one this past January. I have the 50 Omega, stainless with laminate stock. I have a 3X10 Leupold on it. I get okay groups, usually around 2" or so at 100 yards off the bench and have had the occasional group at about an inch.

I use 777 pellets mainly but did try loose BM3 which gave really erratic performance for me accuracy wise. I shoot mainly 250 and 300 SST's but have also had good results with 300 XTPs. I shoot either MMP or Harvestor sabots as the factory sabots are about impossible to load. Even with the MMP's and Harvesters, I swab between each shot.

I noticed that my stock was touching unequally on the barrel forward of the front recoil lug so I used a bedding tool and removed a slight amount of wood from the sides so it is now free floated forward of the front lug. I can't say I noticed any improvement.

Are there any other gun related accuracy tips I should try? I have tried about 5-6 types of bullets but the SST's and XTP's seem to work best. I really want to avoid measuring loose powder for sake of convenience.

Anytips appreciated.

Thanks.

GLC said:
I really want to avoid measuring loose powder for sake of convenience.

Anytips appreciated.

Thanks.

Weighing loose powder IS the way, with most any muzzleloader-- if you want to shrink groups. Sorry. :cry:

Okay,

I have 18 years experience with smokeless centerfire reloading and am familiar with weighing powder charges, etc. for the best accuracy so the idea does make sense. I figured that Randy's was the answer I'd get.