First Muzzy Purchase: CVA vs. Knight... Advice and Reviews!

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Muzzy Fam,

I've been pouring over the forums here and elsewhere, reading reviews and researching smoke poles. Below are my findings for comparison between my top options. I am posting to 1) provide info for others following the same path I'm currently on, and 2) hear from others with (recent?) experience with these particular brands/models.

For reference, I am a Colorado resident, so my ideal muzzy will have a base system that is CO legal (loose powder, no sabot, open sights), but I am looking to swap out open sights for a scope for use in other states, mainly Nebraska. This is to be a deer only gun, so I have been specifically researching .45 cal muzzleloaders. Weight is a factor, as CO muzzy season is September when the weather is nice(er?), and I love getting out in the backcountry.

CVA: Accura MR-X and LR-X

Pros: Lower cost, simple action, much easier to clean, adjustable stock

Cons: Made in Spain, heavier(LR-X), .45 cal bore diameter issues, collapsible ramrod

Knight Rifles: Mountaineer and Ultra-Lite

Pros: Made in the USA, no/fewer bore issues, full and attached ramrod, weight(UL)

Cons: More expensive, more difficult to clean, heavier(mountaineer), breech plug/vent liner issue, no stock adjustment.

Common Ground: all have good, adjustable triggers. Available in different patterns and finishes. 209 ignition, plus other options. Similar twist rates (1:20 or 1:30 for knight, 1:22 for CVA). Longer/shorter barrel length options (26" for MR-X, 30" for LR-X, 24" for Ultra-Lite, 27" for Mountaineer). Accuracy guarantee/claim, 1 MOA at 200 for Knight, "Most accurate muzzleloader you've ever shot or your money back" for CVA (up for interpretation). Customer service seems to be hit and miss for both.

My thoughts: