Help on some load development ideas

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

imstihlaguy

Reaction score
So I'm new to smokless muzzleloaders, not new to muzzleloaders. Got my first build coming together now, it'll be a while till the gun is done, but I'm trying to plan a load to try put once it is.

Im building on a savage action, with a kit from Cecil at prbullet.
50 cal stainless green mountain barrel.
28", 1:26"

I've heard alot of guys doing the hornady 300 grain bullets, powerd by some 5744. I dont hate that, but a part of me wants to shoot 50 cal bullets.

Id like to shoot the fury 320 grain universal fits. Any suggestions on load to move that bullet? Or any other 50 cal loads, sabboted or un sabboted, that you think I should try? Thanks guys.

you're going to have limited .50 cal bullets available , Thor might have some to choose from to see what fits your barrel best.
As for saboted 300 gr. 45 cal bullets I've had great results with 60-68 grs of 4198 either H or IMR, and 60-65 grs of N120 if you can get it.
just remember to allow time for the barrel to cool between shots.

Thanks for that. I understand 50 is less popular than 45s, but up here in Canada you need a min 50 cal to do larger than deer sized game, so I want a do it all gun.

I do have the afformentioned fury universal fits very readily available to me, any experience moving those? I've heard they are great bullets.
Also it seems in my previous bp experience 45s in sabot are not hard to come across at all. I'm just wonding on best ways to move them

So I'm new to smokless muzzleloaders, not new to muzzleloaders. Got my first build coming together now, it'll be a while till the gun is done, but I'm trying to plan a load to try put once it is.

Im building on a savage action, with a kit from Cecil at prbullet.
50 cal stainless green mountain barrel.
28", 1:26"