Need help and have tons of questions about knight tk2000

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bobbyjoe Surrett

Reaction score
I have no clue where to post this but here goes. I've been muzzlebusting for a few years now I have no problems with my knight rifle. My problem is with the tk2000 shot gun. I've bought powder shot wads cups cards you name it I've pretty much tried it except for the knight shot cups. I need help with a loading that throws a foot tight pattern. my gun patterns pretty good to 30 yards now I'm wanting to go out farther than that. Had a heck of a time pattering to that range. This is my load as follows. 70 grains t7 2fg lubricated wool wad overshot card 3 inch bpi shot cups that is solid and I split myself with four petals magnum #5 shot and 2 overshot cards.i have ordered some ranger elite split wads and copper plated Lawson shot to try to get tighter patterns. I have no clue how much shot the cup I'm using holds due to a lack of scales. Any help would be appreciated and welcomed

Your TK has a jug choke or at least mine did. Pattern is controlled by choke. I am unaware of any aftermarket chokes but there may be some available. A 12 inch pattern with a factory choke at 30 yards is what I would judge to be very tight. An option for pattern density might be TSS shot in a 7 1/2 or 8 if allowed by your local laws.

That I understand and know about the choke. I want to know what technique has been achieved to get tighter patterns. I would use tss but for the price I'll stick with copper plated shot 10 pounds is 71 bucks after shipping. I've got about a 20 inch maybe less size pattern at 30 yards

I have some larger fiber wads never thought to use those I know the cork wads don't work to good over the shot. I have a bag of gas seals I'll see if they will work on those when I get the rangers.