newbie looking for target rounds...

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

atjurhs

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm a complete and total newbie to muzzeloading.

Anyways, I got all excited and bought me a CVA Optima V2, and a Nixon 3-9 40mm.

I watched the CVA/Powerbelt YouTube videos and I bought Aerolite 250gr. bullets, WhiteLighting powder pellets and Winchester 209 primers. All that was pretty expensive with the Aerolites costing the most. So I'd like to find some bullets to shoot at targets on the range. Bullets that would be significantly less expensive than the Aerolites, but not junk, accurate out to 100yds (that's how long my range is).

Can someone point me to some bullets that will work?

THANKS!

Purchase in bulk. Sabots come in 50 count and bullets, depending on size can come in 50-100 count. Get some 240 or 300 grain XTPs and some .452 black Harvester sabots. They will be cheaper to shoot. And more effective for hunting. Also some other bullets are 240 grains Cheap Shots, 250 grain XTPs, and the Deep Curl bullets.

Do plastic sabot rounds foul the lands and grooves with plastic residue? I think that's what the Powerbelt guys were saying, so that's why I bought the 250 Aerolites

Where do I find these XTP, Harvester, and Deep Curl bullets?

I ordered my stuff on-line from Cabelas. My local Gander Mtn. Dick's sporting goods, and the local gunshops has very very little supply of any Muzzeloader stuff.

Can you please list out a few different websites that sells Muzzeloader stuff.

What about Conical bullets, are they a good choice for target practice?

Thanks for your info, I really appreciate it!

No, sabot fouling is a myth with modern sabots. PBs have a plastic skirt.