777 FFFg velocity

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jevyod

Reaction score
I did some looking but could not find much. Is there a chart somewhere that tells that in general x amount of T7 powder produces X velocity with x bullet weight?

I will explain why I am wondering... I am planning on taking up muzzle loading in the 2023 season. I am new to this, have asked several questions, and gotten good help. I plan on starting with Sabots and cast lead bullets because I already cast for my 358 Winchester and have some lead on hand. ( plus I am not rich by any stretch of the imagination, and saving money is a big plus!!) I do realize that I need to swab the barrel after each shot and that's ok.

I am planning on starting with a Lee 452-300 mold as a 300 grain bullet should be suitable for what I need. I am hoping to get a velocity of 1600-1700 fps at the muzzle, longest shot where I currently hunt is 75 yards. I will likely start with an alloy of 49-49-2 Pure-Clip on wheel weights-pewter. I would think that should give expansion out to 75 yards.

So as to my original question, I am wondering where to start for a target velocity of 1600-1700 fps. 70-80 grains? Powder is T7 FFFg.

As an aside, if it feels like I am barking up the wrong tree/wasting my time here please feel free to add other advice. Like I said, I am brand new to this and welcome input. I have not totally ruled out a Lee REAL bullet or something like that. Gun is a new CVA Wolf purchased black Friday 2022 so I believe it has the 1:28 twist. I plan on using Harvester crush rib sabots. Please keep in mind here I am trying to get by while keeping it reasonably low cost, so whatever mold I buy will likely be a Lee.... Maybe I should try a 250ish grain semi-wadcutter design to save on lead. I know revolver guys like them! Thanks for the help!