A 30 year summary of projectile performance

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sparkitoff1

Reaction score
I've used muzzleloading rifles for hunting for the past 30 years. For 20 of those years I was a professional hunter and got to witness a lot of muzzleloader action from clients too. I kept meticulous notes on everything that was shot including my own game and clients. I recently pondered over all the notes and made some realizations.

First, I admit to knowing far less about muzzleloading in the past than my current knowledge.  I pretty much used 100 grain loads of whatever powder I could purchase almost exclusively, with the exception being 2-60 grain Triple7 pellet loads and 90 grains of Blackhorn 209. (Nowadays that has changed and I tend to use 80grs for most everything).

I was never picky about projectile and either shot what was provided by a sponsor or what was available in the store (no stores focused on black powder near me). I have personally shot over 600 big game animals from muntjac to elephant but just short of 100 have been with muzzleloader rifles. The rifles include CVA in-lines and sidelocks, T/C in-line, and a Traditions sidelock in .50 cal and a .58 Zouave. It is only in the past 4 years that I have and use .54 cal in a Pedersoli Rolling Block and a custom Flintlock.

Depending on the regulations and the purpose I have used fixed sights, adjustable sights, peep sights and scopes. I have always sighted in to be dead-on at 100 yards. This was a necessity at one time because the only public range nearby only offered that target distance. Out of habit, I just kept doing that.